Meal planning

I go back and forth between planning out each meal and just making it up as I go.  I really like just buying whatever produce looks good and letting it inspire me, but after a long day of work my brain isn’t very inspired even by the most beautiful fresh produce.  The past month or so at work has been pretty challenging and I often come home tired and hungry, so I’ve been trying to plan out our dinners again.  All I have to do when I get home is follow a recipe while drinking a beer or glass of wine and it’s wonderfully mindless.  I thought I’d share some of the meals I have been making and what I plan to make this week since I just went grocery shopping.

Probably the best thing I’ve made in the past month were these tacos from Cookie and Kate, Sam gave it the meal an 8.5/10.  I thought it would be a more involved meal, but it is really pretty easy.  I hate cleaning the food processor, but this recipe is so, so worth it.  I’ve made it twice already!

Sweet potato and black bean tacos recipe - cookieandkate.com

image source: Cookie + Kate

Next on the list that I’ve already made and am planning to make again this week is My New Root’s Winter Abundance Bowl.  It is healthy and filling and the garlic-ginger pumpkin seed sauce is to die for!  I am looking forward to having leftovers for lunches this week.

abundancebowl4

image source: My New Roots

Next up is soup!  I made this chickpea miso noodle soup from Love and Lemons and it reminded me of chicken noodle soup, but so much better.  Yum.  And it was great leftover for lunch the next day!

Chickpea lemon-miso noodle soup / loveandlemons.com

image source: Love and Lemons

And because it’s cold outside… here’s another soup that I plan to make this week!  It’s Love and Lemon’s “creamy” sundried tomato soup and it’s absolutely to die for.  I’ve made it twice before and it’s so rich and delicious and comforting.  It’s so cold and soups are one of my favorite meals.

Creamy (vegan) Tomato Soup  // Love & Lemons

image source: Love and Lemons

I am also planning to make pizza this week with Trader Joe’s pre-made dough, which I’ve never done before.  I hope it turns out well!  Toppings will include marinara, mushrooms, caramelized onions, and italian Field Roast sausages (+mozerella for Samuel).

Hope you all are enjoying your weekends!

Do you plan out your meals for the week or make it up as you go?

Leave a Reply

